APPENDIX 1

LONDON BOROUGH OF TOWER HAMLETS

COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS 2022-2023

NOMINATIONS SUBMITTED TO THE ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING ON 25 MAY 2022

AUDIT COMMITTEE

(Nine members of the Council. Chair cannot be a member of the executive)

Aspire Group (5)	Labour Group (4)	Ungrouped (0)
Cllr Jahed Chowdhury	Cllr Rachel Blake	
Cllr Saied Ahmed	Cllr Mufeedah Bustin	
Cllr Ohid Ahmed	Cllr Asma Islam	
Cllr Kabir Hussain	Cllr James King	
Cllr Ahmodur Rahman Khan		
Substitutes (up to 3 members):-	Substitutes (up to 3 members):-	
Cllr Jahed Chowdhury	Cllr Mohammed Chowdhury	
Cllr Ahmodul Kabir	Cllr Abdal Ullah	
Cllr Talha Chowdhury	Cllr Ayas Miah	

DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE (Seven members of the Council)		
Aspire Group (4)	Labour Group (3)	Ungrouped (0)
Cllr Abdul Wahid Cllr Iqbal Hossain Cllr Suluk Ahmed Cllr Kamrul Hussain	Cllr Amy Lee Cllr James King Cllr Amina Ali	
Substitutes (up to 3 members):-	Substitutes (up to 3 members):-	
Cllr Maium Talukdar Cllr Amin Rahman Cllr Amin Miah Cllr Asbina Akhtar		

STRATEGIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE (Nine members of the Council)		
Aspire Group (5)	Labour Group (4)	Ungrouped (0)
Cllr Amin Rahman	Cllr Mufeedah Bustin	
Cllr Kamrul Hussain	Cllr Rachel Blake	
Cllr Kibria Chowdhury Cllr Abdul Wahid Cllr Sabina Akhtar Cllr Shubo Hussain		
Cllr Kabir Hussain		
Substitutes (up to 3 members):-	Substitutes (up to 3 members):-	

Cllr Maium Talukdar Cllr Suluk Ahmed Cllr Harun Miah	Cllr Amy Lee Cllr James King Cllr Amina Ali	

GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE (Nine members of the Council)		
Aspire Group (5)	Labour Group (4)	Ungrouped (0)
Cllr Saif Uddin Khaled Cllr Maium Talukdar Cllr Kabir Ahmed Cllr Abu Talha Cllr Musthak Ahmed	Cllr James King Cllr Abdal Ullah Cllr Asma Begum Cllr Maisha Begum	N/A
Substitutes (up to 3 members):- Cllr Amin Rahman Cllr Kibria Chowdhury Cllr Kabir Ahmed	Substitutes (up to 3 members):- Cllr Sirajul Islam Cllr Asma Islam Cllr Mufeedah Bustin	

LICENSING COMMITTEE

(Fifteen members of the Council. No substitutes permitted)

Aspire Group (8)	Labour Group (6)	Ungrouped (1)
Cllr Kamrul Hussain Cllr Ahmodul Kabir Cllr Kabir Hussain Cllr Saied Ahmed Cllr Amin Rahman Cllr Abdul Wahid Cllr Suluk Ahmed Cllr Kibria Chowdhury	Cllr Leelu Ahmed Cllr Sabina Akhtar Cllr Rebaka Sultana Cllr Shubo Hussain Cllr Faroque Ahmed Cllr Asma Begum	Cllr Peter Golds

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

(Nine non-executive members of the Council plus two co-opted members)
(NB Scrutiny Lead Members and Chairs of Sub-Committees to be appointed by the O&S Committee)

Aspire Group (5)	Labour Group (4)	Ungrouped (0)	Co-Opted Members
			(for information – to
			be appointed by
			Overview and
			Scrutiny Committee)
Cllr Abdul Mannan	Cllr Marc Francis		To be appointed
Cllr Bodrul Choudhury	Cllr Maisha Begum	N/A	following
Cllr Musthak Ahmed	Cllr Asma Islam		nomination/recruitment

Cllr Abdul Malik	Cllr Sabina Khan	exercise.
Cllr Ahmodur khan		
	Substitutes (up to 2 members):	
	Substitutes (up to 3 members):-	
Substitutes (up to 3 members):-		
	Cllr Rachel Blake	
Cllr Abdul Wahid	Cllr Faroque Ahmed	
	· ·	
Cllr Saif Uddin Khaled	Cllr Mohammed Chowdhury	
Cllr Kamrul Hussain		

PENSIONS COMMITEE

(Seven members of the Council)

Aspire Group (4)	Labour Group (3)	Ungrouped (0)
Cllr Belal Uddin Cllr Iqbal Hossain	Cllr Rachel Blake Cllr Ayas Miah	
Cllr Abdul Malik Cllr Abdul Mannan	Clir Abdal Ullah	
	Subatitutas (un to 2 mambara)	N/A
Substitutes (up to 3 members):-	Substitutes (up to 3 members):-	
Cllr Abu Talha Cllr Amin Rahman	Cllr Sirajul Islam Cllr Asma Islam	
Cllr Ahmodur Rahman Khan	Cllr Amy Lee	

PENSIONS BOARD

(One Councillor (from any group/ungrouped) to work alongside six other members of the Board) (If there is more than one nomination then Council will determine the appointment)

Aspire Group	Labour Group	Ungrouped
Clir Abdul Mannan	Cllr Rachel Blake	

STANDARDS ADVISORY COMMITTEE

(Five Members of the Council (who may not include the Mayor or more than one other Cabinet Member) - plus up to five co-opted members, one of whom shall chair the Committee)

Aspire Group (3)	Labour Group (2)	Ungrouped (0)	Co-opted Members
Cllr Amin Rahman	Cllr Sabina Akhtar	N/A	
Cllr Shafi Ahmed	Cllr Sirajul Islam		John Pulford MBE,
Cllr Abu Talha	·		Michael Houston
	Substitutes (up to 3 members):-		Fiona Browne
Substitutes (up to 3 members):-			Vacancy x2
	Cllr Amina Ali		
	Cllr Asma Begum		Independent
			Persons:
			Amanda Orchard
			Rachel Tiffin

HEALTH AND WELLBEING BOARD

(The Executive, Councillors, Local Authority Officers, Healthwatch and NHS Commissioners. In addition, non-voting co-opted members including NHS Providers and the Young Mayor amongst others.)

Elected Members	Stakeholder - Non-Executive Councillor nominee
Cabinet Member for Adults, Health and Wellbeing (Chair) - Cllr Kibria Chowdhury	Non-executive largest opposition group councillor nominated by Council - Councillor Amy Lee
Cabinet Member for Education & Children's Services - Cllr Maium Talukdar	Note – the Chair of the Health Scrutiny Sub-Committee is also a Stakeholder
Cabinet Member for Housing Management and Performance - Cllr Kabir Ahmed	
Cabinet Member for Resources - Cllr Saied Ahmed	
Non-Executive Majority Group Councillor - Cllr Abdul Wahid	
Substitutes (up to 3 members):-	
Cllr Ohid Ahmed Cllr Iqbal Hussain Cllr Suluk Ahmed	

ADOPTION AND FOSTERING PANELS

(To comprise two Social Workers, one elected Member, three Independent Persons and to include one man and one woman, up to a maximum of ten persons – meetings held during the day)

Two appointments from any political group to be nominated to the Central List. The Members will be added to the Central List once they have completed the required training and observation exercises.

Aspire Group	Labour Group	Ungrouped
Cllr Bodrul Chowdhury Cllr Iqbal Hossain	Cllr Mufeedah Bustin Cllr Mohammed Chowdhury	
Substitutes (up to 3 members):-		
Cllr Saied Ahmed Cllr Abu Talha		

CORPORATE PARENTING BOARD

(Cabinet Member responsible for Children's Services, other Councillor(s), the Corporate Director, Governance (and other non-Councillor Members as appropriate)

Aspire Group	Labour Group	Ungrouped
Cllr Maium Talukdar Cllr Suluk Ahmed Cllr Musthak Ahmed	Cllr Asma Islam Cllr Sirajul Islam	
Substitutes (up to 3 members):- Cllr Ohid Ahmed Cllr Jahed Chowdhury Cllr Bodrul Choudhury		

STANDING ADVISORY COUNCIL ON RELIGIOUS EDUCATION (SACRE)

(To comprise members appointed by the LEA)
(there is a requirement for two majority group and one minority group appointments)

Aspire Group (2)	Labour Group (1)	Ungrouped NA
Cllr Abdul Wahid Cllr Jahed Chowdhury	Cllr Mufeedah Bustin	
Substitutes (up to 3 members):-		
Cllr Saied Ahmed Cllr Kibria Chowdhury		

OUTSIDE BODY APPOINTMENT				
Local Government Group Annual Conference (LGA) (Up to four Members of the Council can be appointed)				
Group	Group	Ungrouped		
Cllr Maium Talukdar Cllr Kabir Ahmed	Cllr Sirajul Islam Cllr Abdal Ullah			
Cllr Abdul Malik Cllr Abdul Mannan	Cllr Rachel Blake Cllr Asma Islam			

TO NOTE POLITICAL GROUP APPOINTMENTS

Aspire Group

Member	Title
Mayor Lutfur Rahman	Leader of the Aspire Group
Cllr Maium Talukdar	Deputy Leader of the Aspire Group
Cllr Suluk Ahmed	Chief Whip

Labour Group

Member	Title
Cllr Sirajul Islam	Leader of the Labour Group
Cllr Amina Ali	Deputy Leader of the Labour Group
Cllr Sabina Akhtar	Opposition Whip