APPENDIX 1

LONDON BOROUGH OF TOWER HAMLETS

COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS 2021-2022

NOMINATIONS SUBMITTED TO THE ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING ON 19 MAY 2021

AUDIT COMMITTEE (Eight members of the Council)		
Labour Group (7)	Conservative Group (1)	Ungrouped (0)
Cllr Ayas Miah Cllr David Edgar Cllr James King Cllr Kevin Brady Cllr Kyrsten Perry	Cllr Andrew Wood Substitutes:-	
Clir Leema Qureshi Clir Val Whitehead	Cllr Peter Golds	
Substitutes:- Cllr Bex White Cllr Abdal Ullah Cllr Tarik Khan		

DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

(Seven members of the Council)

Labour Group (6)	Conservative Group (0)	Ungrouped (1)
Cllr Abdul Mukit Cllr Asma Islam Cllr John Pierce Cllr Kahar Chowdhury Cllr Kyrsten Perry Cllr Leema Qureshi	N/A	N/A
Substitutes:- Cllr Kevin Brady Cllr Sabina Akhtar Cllr David Edgar		

STRATEGIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

(Eight members of the Council)

Conservative Group (0)	Ungrouped (1)
	Cllr Rabina Khan
N/A	(Substitutes not applicable)

GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE

(Nine members of the Council)

Labour Group (8)	Conservative Group (1)	Ungrouped (0)
Cllr Amina Ali		
Cllr Asma Islam	Cllr Peter Golds	
Cllr Danny Hassell		
Cllr Denise Jones		
Cllr Helal Uddin	Substitutes:-	N/A
Cllr Motin uz-Zaman		
Cllr Tarik Khan	Cllr Andrew Wood	
Cllr Zenith Rahman		
Substitutes:-		
Cllr Rajib Ahmed		
Cllr Faroque Ahmed		
Cllr Val Whitehead		
Cllr Val Whitehead		

LICENSING COMMITTEE (Fifteen members of the Council) (No substitutes permitted)		
Labour Group (14)	Conservative Group (1)	Ungrouped (0)
Cllr Amina Ali Cllr Ayas Miah Cllr Dan Tomlinson	Cllr Peter Golds	
Cllr Dipa Das Cllr Eve McQuillan Cllr Kevin Brady Cllr Mohammed Ahbab Hossain Cllr Mohammed Pappu Cllr Rajib Ahmed Cllr Shad Chowdhury Cllr Shah Ameen Cllr Sufia Alam Cllr Victoria Obaze Cllr Zenith Rahman	Substitutes:- N/A	N/A
Substitutes:- N/A		

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

(Nine members of the Council plus two co-opted members) (NB Scrutiny Lead Members and Chairs of Sub-Committees to be appointed by the O&S Committee)

Labour Group (8)	Conservative Group (1)	Ungrouped (0)	Co-Opted Members (for information – to be appointed by Overview and Scrutiny Committee)
Cllr Bex White Cllr Denise Jones Cllr Ehtasham Haque Cllr Faroque Ahmed Cllr Gabriela Salva Macallan	Cllr Andrew Wood Substitutes:-	N/A	Halima Islam James Wilson
Cllr Leema Qureshi Cllr Marc Francis Cllr Mohammed Pappu Substitutes:-	Cllr Peter Golds		
Cllr Zenith Rahman Cllr Shah Ameen Cllr Kevin Brady			

PENSIONS COMMITEE (Seven members of the Council)		
Conservative Group (1)	Ungrouped (0)	
Cllr Andrew Wood		
Substitutes:-	N/A	
Cllr Peter Golds		

PENSIONS BOARD (One Councillor to work alongside six other members of the Board)		
Labour Group	Conservative Group	Ungrouped
Cllr Abdal Ullah		

STANDARDS ADVISORY COMMITTEE

(Five Members of the Council (who may not include the Mayor or more than one other Cabinet Member) - plus up to five co-opted members, one of whom shall chair the Committee)

Labour Group (4)	Conservative Group (0)	Ungrouped (1)	Co-opted Members
Cllr Abdal Ullah Cllr James King		Cllr Rabina Khan	John Pulford MBE,
Cllr Mufeedah Bustin Cllr Rajib Ahmed	N/A	(Substitutes not	Nafisa Adam, Michael Houston Fiona Browne
Substitutes:- Cllr Puru Miah	N/A	(Substitutes not applicable)	Denzil Johnson
Cllr Marc Francis Cllr Tarik Khan			Independent Persons:
			Elizabeth Hall Rachel Tiffin

HEALTH AND WELLBEING BOARD

(The Executive, Councillors, Local Authority Officers, Healthwatch and NHS Commissioners. In addition, nonvoting co-opted members including NHS Providers and the Young Mayor amongst others.

Ex-officio Elected Members	Non-Executive Councillor nominee
Cabinet Member for Adults, Health and Wellbeing (Chair) – Cllr Rachel Blake	Non-executive largest minority group councillor nominated by Council
Cabinet Member for Children, Youth Services and Education – Cllr Asma Begum	Cllr Andrew Wood
Cabinet Member for Housing – Cllr Danny Hassell	
Cabinet Member for Resources and the Voluntary Sector – Cllr Candida Ronald	
Non-Executive Majority Group Councillor – Cllr Denise Jones	

ADOPTION AND FOSTERING PANELS

(To comprise two Social Workers, one elected Member, three Independent Persons and to include one man and one woman, up to a maximum of ten persons – meetings held during the day)

Two appointments from any political group to be nominated to the Central List. The Members will be added to the Central List once they have completed the required training and observation exercises.

Labour Group	Conservative Group	Ungrouped
Cllr Val Whitehead Cllr Bex White		

CORPORATE PARENTING BOARD

(Cabinet Member responsible for Children's Services, other Councillor(s), the Corporate Director, Governance (and other non-Councillor Members as appropriate)

Labour Group	Conservative Group	Ungrouped
Cllr Asma Begum Cllr Asma Islam Cllr Candida Ronald Cllr Danny Hassell Cllr David Edgar	Cllr Peter Golds	

STANDING ADVISORY COUNCIL ON RELIGIOUS EDUCATION (SACRE)

(To comprise members appointed by the LEA) (there is a requirement for two majority group and one minority group appointments)

Labour Group	Conservative Group	Ungrouped
Cllr Dipa Das Cllr Mohammed Pappu	Cllr Andrew Wood	

MAYORAL ADVISORS

- Mayoral Advisor for Mental Health: Cllr Amina Ali
- Mayoral Advisor for Community and Voluntary Sector and to support young people post Covid-19: Cllr Sufia Alam
- Mayoral Advisor for public realm: Cllr Abdal Ullah

TO NOTE POLITICAL GROUP APPOINTMENTS

Labour Group

Leader of the Labour Group: Mayor John Biggs Deputy Leader of the Labour Group: Cllr Asma Begum Group Whip: Cllr Tarik Khan **Conservative Group**

- Leader of the Conservative Group: Cllr Peter Golds
- Group Whip: Cllr Andrew Wood

Scrutiny Sub-Committee Nominations for Information

The following appointments are presented for information as it is for the Overview and Scrutiny Committee to agree Membership of its subcommittees.

Housing & Regeneration Scrutiny Sub-Committee

Cllr Amina Ali Cllr Ehtasham Haque Cllr Helal Uddin Cllr Marc Francis Cllr Victoria Obaze Cllr Andrew Wood

Health & Adults Scrutiny Sub-Committee

Cllr Denise Jones Cllr Faroque Ahmed Cllr Gabriela Salva Macallan Cllr Puru Miah Cllr Shah Ameen Cllr Andrew Wood

Children and Education Scrutiny Sub-Committee

Cllr Abdal Ullah Cllr Bex White Cllr Gabriela Salva Macallan Cllr Helal Uddin Cllr Shad Chowdhury Cllr Victoria Obaze Cllr Andrew Wood