APPENDIX 1

LONDON BOROUGH OF TOWER HAMLETS

COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS 2020-2021

NOMINATIONS SUBMITTED TO THE ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING ON 30 SEPTEMBER 2020

AUDIT COMMITTEE (Eight members of the Council)		
Labour Group (7)	Conservative Group (1)	Ungrouped (0)
Councillor Ayas Miah Councillor David Edgar Councillor Helal Uddin Councillor Kyrsten Perry Councillor Marc Francis Councillor Puru Miah Councillor Val Whitehead Substitutes:-	Councillor Andrew Wood Substitutes:- Councillor Peter Golds	N/A
Councillor Kevin Brady Councillor Abdal Ullah Councillor Bex White		

DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE (Seven members of the Council)		
Labour Group (6)	Conservative Group (0)	Ungrouped (1)
Councillor Abdul Mukit Councillor Dipa Das Councillor John Pierce Councillor Kahar Chowdhury Councillor Leema Qureshi Councillor Sufia Alam	Substitutes:-	N/A
Substitutes:- Councillor Kevin Brady Councillor Mufeedah Bustin Councillor Sabina Akhtar		

STRATEGIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE (Eight members of the Council)		
Labour Group (7)	Conservative Group (0)	Ungrouped (1)
Councillor Abdul Mukit		Rabina Khan
Councillor Dipa Das		
Councillor John Pierce		
Councillor Kevin Brady		
Councillor Sabina Akhtar	N/A	

Councillor Tarik Khan Councillor Val Whitehead		
Substitutes:-		
Councillor Dan Tomlinson Councillor Leema Qureshi Councillor Sufia Alam		
	GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE (Nine members of the Council)	
Labour Group (8)	Conservative Group (1)	Ungrouped (0)
Councillor Amina Ali		
Councillor Asma Islam Councillor Denise Jones	Councillor Peter Golds	
Councillor Faroque Ahmed		
Councillor Helal Uddin	Substitutes:-	N/A
Councillor Kevin Brady		
Councillor Rajib Ahmed Councillor Shad Chowdhury	Councillor Andrew Wood	
,		
Substitutes:-		
Councillor Shah Ameen		
Councillor Danny Hassell Councillor Motin Uz-Zaman		

Labour Group (14)	Conservative Group (1)	Ungrouped (0)
Councillor Ahbab Hossain Councillor Amina Ali Councillor Ayas Miah Councillor David Edgar	Councillor Peter Golds	
Councillor Eve McQuillan Councillor Kahar Chowdhury Councillor Kyrsten Perry Councillor Mohammed Pappu Councillor Rajib Ahmed Councillor Shad Chowdhury Councillor Shah Ameen Councillor Sufia Alam Councillor Victoria Obaze Councillor Zenith Rahman	Substitutes:- N/A	N/A
Substitutes:-		

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

(nine members of the Council plus six co-opted members) (NB Scrutiny Lead Members and Chairs of Sub-Committees to be appointed by the O&S Committee)

Labour Group (8)	Conservative Group (1)	Ungrouped (0)	Co-Opted Members (for information – to be appointed by Overview and Scrutiny Committee)
Councillor Bex White Councillor Denise Jones Councillor Ehtasham Haque Councillor Faroque Ahmed Councillor Gabriela Salva Macallan Councillor James King Councillor Leema Qureshi Councillor Marc Francis Substitutes:- Councillor Mohammed Pappu Councillor Victoria Obaze Councillor Zenith Rahman	Councillor Andrew Wood Substitutes:- Councillor Peter Golds	N/A	Neil Cunningham Ahmed Hussain Fatiha Kassouri (Parent Governors)Joanna Hannan (Representative of Diocese of Westminster)Dr Phillip Rice (Church of England Representative)Khoyrul Shaheed (Muslim Faith Community)

PENSIONS COMMITEE (Seven members of the Council)		
Labour Group (6)	Conservative Group (1)	Ungrouped (0)
Councillor Abdal Ullah Councillor Ayas Miah Councillor Helal Uddin Councillor Kyrsten Perry Councillor Puru Miah Councillor Rachel Blake	Councillor Peter Golds Substitutes:- Councillor Andrew Wood	N/A
Substitutes:- Councillor Faroque Ahmed Councillor Kevin Brady Councillor Gabriela Salva Macallan		

PENSIONS BOARD (One Councillor to work alongside six other members of the Board)		
Labour Group	Conservative Group	Ungrouped
Councillor Abdal Ullah		

STANDARDS ADVISORY COMMITTEE

(Five Members of the Council (who may not include the Mayor or more than one other Cabinet Member) - plus up to five co-opted members, one of whom shall chair the Committee)

Labour Group (4)	Conservative Group (0)	Ungrouped (1)	Co-opted Members
Councillor Abdal Ullah Councillor Leema Qureshi Councillor Mufeedah Bustin Councillor Rajib Ahmed		Councillor Rabina Khan	John Pulford MBE, Nafisa Adam, Michael Houston
Substitutes:-	N/A	(Substitutes not applicable)	Fiona Browne Vacancy
Councillor Denise Jones Councillor Puru Miah Councillor Marc Francis			Independent Persons: Elizabeth Hall
			Rachel Tiffin

HEALTH AND WELLBEING BOARD

(The Executive, Councillors, Local Authority Officers, Healthwatch and NHS Commissioners. In addition, non-voting co-opted members including NHS Providers and the Young Mayor amongst others.

Ex-officio Elected Members	Non-Executive Councillor nominee
Cabinet Member for Adults, Health and Wellbeing (Chair) – Councillor Rachel Blake	Non-executive largest minority group councillor nominated by Council
Cabinet Member for Children's Services – Councillor Danny Hassell	Councillor Andrew Wood
Cabinet Member for Housing – Councillor Sirajul Islam	
Cabinet Member for Resources and the Voluntary Sector – Councillor Candida Ronald	
Non-Executive Majority Group Councillor – Councillor Denise Jones	

ADOPTION AND FOSTERING PANELS

(To comprise two Social Workers, one elected Member, three Independent Persons and to include one man and one woman, up to a maximum of ten persons – meetings held during the day)

Two appointments from any political group to be nominated to the Central List. The Members will be added to the Central List once they have completed the required training and observation exercises.

Labour Group	Conservative Group	Ungrouped
Councillor Bex White Councillor Val Whitehead		

CORPORATE PARENTING BOARD (Cabinet Member for Children's Services, other Councillor(s), the Corporate Director, Governance (and other non-Councillor Members as appropriate)		
Labour Group	Conservative Group	Ungrouped
Councillor Asma Islam Councillor Candida Ronald Councillor Danny Hassell Councillor David Edgar Councillor Val Whitehead		

STANDING ADVISORY COUNCIL ON RELIGIOUS EDUCATION (SACRE)

(To comprise members appointed by the LEA) (there is a requirement for two majority group and one minority group appointments)

Labour Group	Conservative Group	Ungrouped
Councillor Sufia Alam		

MAYORAL ADVISORS

TO NOTE POLITICAL GROUP APPOINTMENTS

Labour Group - Leader of the Labour Group – Mayor John Biggs Deputy Leader of the Labour Group – Cllr Asma Begum Group Whip – Cllr Kevin Brady

Conservative Group

- Leader of the Conservative Group
- Group Whip