LONDON BOROUGH OF TOWER HAMLETS COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS 2019-2020 AGREED AT THE ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING ON 15 MAY 2019

Name	Portfolio
Deputy Mayor for housing (Statutory Deputy Mayor)	Cllr Sirajul Islam
Deputy Mayor for planning, air-quality and tackling poverty	Cllr Rachel Blake
Deputy Mayor for community safety and equalities	Cllr Asma Begum
Children's, schools and young people	Cllr Danny Hassel
Adults, health and wellbeing	Cllr Amina Ali
Resources and the voluntary sector	Cllr Candida Ronald
Culture, arts and Brexit	Cllr Sabina Akhtar
Work and economic growth	Cllr Motin Uz-Zaman
Environment	Cllr David Edgar

Committee Chairs

Committee	Nominations received for Chair
Overview & Scrutiny Committee	Councillor James King
Development Committee	Councillor M. Abdul Mukit
Strategic Development Committee	Councillor John Pierce
General Purposes Committee	Councillor Helal Uddin
Audit Committee	Councillor Val Whitehead
Pensions Committee	Councillor Kyrsten Perry
Licensing Committee	Councillor Ehtasham Haque

AUDIT COMMITTEE (Eight members of the Council)

Labour Group (7)	Conservative Group (1)	Ungrouped (0)
Abdal Ullah Ayas Miah Ehtasham Haque	Andrew Wood	
Kyrsten Perry Marc Francis Mufeedah Bustin Val Whitehead	Substitutes:- Peter Golds	N/A
Substitutes:- Mohammed Ahbab Hossain Bex White Gabriela Salva Macallan		

DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

(Seven members of the Council)

Labour Group (6)	Conservative Group (0)	Ungrouped (1)
M. Abdul Mukit		
Dan Tomlinson Dipa Das		
John Pierce		
Leema Qureshi	N/A	(Substitutes not
Mufeedah Bustin		applicable)
Substitutes:- Sabina Akhtar		
Kevin Brady		
Rajib Ahmed		

STRATEGIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

(Eight members of the Council)

Labour Group (7)	Conservative Group (0)	Ungrouped (1)
M. Abdul Mukit		
John Pierce		
Kevin Brady		
Sabina Akhtar		Rabina Khan
Гarik Khan	N/A	
Val Whitehead		(Substitutes not
Zenith Rahman		applicable)
Substitutes:-		
Leema Qureshi		
Dan Tomlinson		
Dipa Das		

GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE

(Nine members of the Council)

Labour Group (8)	Conservative Group (1)	Ungrouped (0)
Amina Ali Asma Islam Denise Jones Faroque Ahmed	Peter Golds	
Helal Uddin Kevin Brady Rajib Ahmed Shad Chowdhury	Substitutes:- Andrew Wood	N/A
Substitutes:- Danny Hassell Motin Uz-Zaman Asma Begum		

LICENSING COMMITTEE

(Fifteen members of the Council) (No substitutes permitted)

Labour Group (14)	Conservative Group (1)	Ungrouped (0)
Mohammed Ahbab Hossain	Peter Golds	
Dan Tomlinson		
Ehtasham Haque		
Eve McQuillan		
Faroque Ahmed		N/A
Gabriela Salva Macallan		
Leema Qureshi		
Mohammed Pappu		
Rajib Ahmed		
Shad Chowdhury		
Shah Ameen Sufia Alam		
Suna Alam Victoria Obaze		
Zenith Rahman		

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

(Eleven members of the Council plus six co-opted members)
(NB Scrutiny Lead Members and Chairs of Sub-Committees to be appointed by the O&S Committee)

Labour Group (10)	Conservative Group (1)	Ungrouped (0)	Co-Opted Members (for information – to be appointed by Overview and Scrutiny Committee)
Bex White Dipa Das Eve McQuillan James King	Andrew Wood		Neil Cunningham Ahmed Hussain Fatiha Kassouri
Kahar Chowdhury Marc Francis	Substitutes:-	N/A	(Parent Governors)
Sufia Alam Tarik Khan Substitutes:- Zenith Rahman	Peter Golds		Joanna Hannan (Representative of Diocese of Westminster)
Mohammed Pappu John Pierce			Dr Phillip Rice (Church of England Representative)
			Khoyrul Shaheed (Muslim Faith Community)

PENSIONS COMMITEE

(Seven members of the Council)

Labour Group (6)	Conservative Group (1)	Ungrouped (0)
Mohammed Ahbab Hossain Abdal Ullah Ayas Miah	Andrew Wood	
Eve McQuillan Kyrsten Perry Rachel Blake	Substitutes:-	N/A
Substitutes:- Faroque Ahmed Kevin Brady Shah Ameen	Peter Golds	

PENSIONS BOARD

(One Councillor to work alongside six other members of the Board)

Conservative Group	Ungrouped

STANDARDS (ADVISORY) COMMITTEE

(Seven Members of the Council (who may not include the Mayor or more than one other Cabinet Member) - plus up to five co-opted members, one of whom shall chair the Committee)

Labour Group (6)	Conservative Group (0)	Ungrouped (1)	Co-opted Members
Abdal Ullah			
James King			John Pulford MBE,
Motin Uz-Zaman		Rabina Khan	Nafisa Adam,
Mufeedah Bustin			Michael James
Rajib Ahmed	N/A	(Substitutes not	Houston
Sufia Alam		applicable)	Fiona Browne
			Independent
Substitutes:-			Persons:
M. Abdul Mukit			Elizabeth Hall
Denise Jones			Rachel Tiffin
Eve McQuillan			

HEALTH AND WELLBEING BOARD

(The Executive, Councillors, Local Authority Officers, Healthwatch and NHS Commissioners. In addition, non-voting co-opted members including NHS Providers and the Young Mayor amongst others.

Ex-officio Elected Members	Non-Executive Councillor nominee
Amina Ali Candida Ronald Danny Hassell Denise Jones Sirajul Islam	Non-executive largest minority group councillor nominated by Council Andrew Wood

ADOPTION AND FOSTERING PANELS

(To comprise two Social Workers, one elected Member, three Independent Persons and to include one man and one woman, up to a maximum of ten persons – meetings held 3rd Tuesday of the month (daytime))

Two appointments from any political group to be nominated to the Central List. The Members will be added to the Central List once they have completed the required training and observation exercises.

Labour Group	Conservative Group	Ungrouped
Bex White Val Whitehead		

CORPORATE PARENTING BOARD

(Cabinet Member for Children's Services, other Councillor(s), the Corporate Director, Governance (and other non-Councillor Members as appropriate)

Labour Group	Conservative Group	Ungrouped
Asma Islam Danny Hassell Candida Ronald David Edgar	Peter Golds	

STANDING ADVISORY COUNCIL ON RELIGIOUS EDUCATION (SACRE)

(To comprise members appointed by the LEA) (there is a requirement for two majority group and one minority group appointments)

Labour Group	Conservative Group	Ungrouped
Danny Hassell Ehtasham Haque		

MAYORAL ADVISORS

Mayoral Adviser - Tackling Poverty and Inequalities	Mufeedah Bustin
Mayoral Advisor - Highways and Public Realm	Dan Tomlinson
Mayoral Advisor - Voluntary and community sector	Asma Islam

TO NOTE POLITICAL GROUP APPOINTMENTS

Labour Group - Mayor John Biggs, Leader of the Labour Group

Asma Begum, Deputy Leader of the Labour Group

Kevin Brady, Group Whip

Conservative Group - Leader of the Conservative Group, Andrew Wood

- Group Whip, Peter Golds