APPENDIX 1

LONDON BOROUGH OF TOWER HAMLETS

COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS 2019-2020

NOMINATIONS SUBMITTED TO THE ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING ON 15 MAY 2019

AUDIT COMMITTEE (Eight members of the Council)		
Labour Group (7)	Conservative Group (1)	Ungrouped (0)
Abdal Ullah Asma Islam Ayas Miah Ehtasham Haque Marc Francis Mufeedah Bustin Val Whitehead	Andrew Wood Substitutes:- Peter Golds	N/A
Substitutes:- Mohammed Ahbab Hossain Bex White Gabriela Salva Macallan		

DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE (Seven members of the Council)

Labour Group (6)	Conservative Group (0)	Ungrouped (1)
M. Abdul Mukit		
Dan Tomlinson		
Dipa Das John Pierce		
Leema Qureshi	N/A	(Substitutes not
Mufeedah Bustin		applicable)
Substitutes:-		
Sabina Akhtar		
Kevin Brady		
Rajib Ahmed		

STRATEGIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE (Eight members of the Council)		
Labour Group (7)	Conservative Group (0)	Ungrouped (1)
M. Abdul Mukit John Pierce Kevin Brady Sabina Akhtar Tarik Khan Val Whitehead Zenith Rahman Substitutes:- Leema Qureshi Dan Tomlinson Dipa Das	N/A	Rabina Khan (Substitutes not applicable)
	GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE (Nine members of the Council)	
Labour Group (8)	Conservative Group (1)	Ungrouped (0)
Amina Ali Asma Islam Denise Jones	Peter Golds	
Faroque Ahmed Helal Uddin	Substitutes:-	N/A

Kevin Brady Rajib Ahmed Shad Chowdhury	Andrew Wood	
Substitutes:- Danny Hassell Motin Uz-Zaman Asma Begum		

LICENSING COMMITTEE

(Fifteen members of the Council) (No substitutes permitted)

Labour Group (14)	Conservative Group (1)	Ungrouped (0)
Mohammed Ahbab Hossain	Peter Golds	
Dan Tomlinson		
Ehtasham Haque		
Eve McQuillan		
Faroque Ahmed		N/A
Gabriela Salva Macallan		
Leema Qureshi		
Mohammed Pappu		
Rajib Ahmed		
Shad Chowdhury		
Shah Ameen		
Sufia Alam		
Victoria Obaze		
Zenith Rahman		

Substitutes:- Kyrsten Perry Mufeedah Bustin Val Whitehead		

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

(Eleven members of the Council plus six co-opted members) (NB Scrutiny Lead Members and Chairs of Sub-Committees to be appointed by the O&S Committee)

Labour Group (10)	Conservative Group (1)	Ungrouped (0)	Co-Opted Members (for information – to be appointed by Overview and Scrutiny Committee)
Bex White			
Dipa Das	Andrew Wood		Neil Cunningham
James King			Ahmed Hussain
Kahar Chowdhury			Fatiha Kassouri
Kyrsten Perry	Substitutes:-	N/A	(Parent Governors)
Marc Francis			
Sufia Alam	Peter Golds		Joanna Hannan
Tarik Khan			(Representative of
			Diocese of
Substitutes:-			Westminster)
Zenith Rahman			
Mohammed Pappu			Dr Phillip Rice

John Pierce	(Church of England Representative)
	Khoyrul Shaheed (Muslim Faith Community)

PENSIONS COMMITEE (Seven members of the Council)		
Labour Group (6)	Conservative Group (1)	Ungrouped (0)
Mohammed Ahbab Hossain Abdal Ullah Ayas Miah Eve McQuillan Kyrsten Perry Rachel Blake	Andrew Wood Substitutes:-	N/A
Substitutes:- Faroque Ahmed Kevin Brady Shah Ameen	Peter Golds	

PENSIONS BOARD

(One Councillor to work alongside six other members of the Board)

Labour Group	Conservative Group	Ungrouped
Kahar Chowdhury		

STANDARDS (ADVISORY) COMMITTEE

(Seven Members of the Council (who may not include the Mayor or more than one other Cabinet Member) - plus up to five co-opted members, one of whom shall chair the Committee)

Labour Group (6)	Conservative Group (0)	Ungrouped (1)	Co-opted Members
Abdal Ullah James King Motin Uz-Zaman Mufeedah Bustin Rajib Ahmed Sufia Alam	N/A	Rabina Khan (Substitutes not applicable)	John Pulford MBE, Nafisa Adam, Michael James Houston Fiona Browne
Substitutes:- M. Abdul Mukit Denise Jones Eve McQuillan			Independent Persons: Elizabeth Hall Rachel Tiffin

HEALTH AND WELLBEING BOARD

(The Executive, Councillors, Local Authority Officers, Healthwatch and NHS Commissioners. In addition, non-voting co-opted members including NHS Providers and the Young Mayor amongst others.

Ex-officio Elected Members	Non-Executive Councillor nominee
Amina Ali Candida Ronald Danny Hassell Denise Jones Sirajul Islam	Non-executive largest minority group councillor nominated by Council Andrew Wood

ADOPTION AND FOSTERING PANELS

(To comprise two Social Workers, one elected Member, three Independent Persons and to include one man and one woman, up to a maximum of ten persons – meetings held 3rd Tuesday of the month (daytime))

Two appointments from any political group to be nominated to the Central List. The Members will be added to the Central List once they have completed the required training and observation exercises.

Labour Group	Conservative Group	Ungrouped
Bex White Val Whitehead		

CORPORATE PARENTING BOARD (Cabinet Member for Children's Services, other Councillor(s), the Corporate Director, Governance (and other non-Councillor Members as appropriate)		
Labour Group	Conservative Group	Ungrouped
Asma Islam Danny Hassell Candida Ronald David Edgar	Peter Golds	

STANDING ADVISORY COUNCIL ON RELIGIOUS EDUCATION (SACRE)

(To comprise members appointed by the LEA)

(there is a requirement for two majority group and one minority group appointments)

Labour Group	Conservative Group	Ungrouped
Danny Hassell Ehtasham Haque		

MAYORAL ADVISORS

Mayoral Adviser - Tackling Poverty	Mufeedah Bustin	
and Inequalities		
Mayoral Advisor - Highways and	Dan Tomlinson	
Public Realm		
Mayoral Advisor - Voluntary and	Asma Islam	
community sector		

TO NOTE POLITICAL GROUP APPOINTMENTS

Labour Group	-	Mayor John Biggs, Leader of the Labour Group Asma Begum, Deputy Leader of the Labour Group Kevin Brady, Group Whip
Conservative Group	-	Leader of the Conservative Group, Andrew Wood Group Whip, Peter Golds